TAG: Oats

Are Oats Really Gluten-Free?

oats-whole

Often,  those who wish, by preference or necessity, to avoid wheat products seek out alternative grains that are feasible as a replacement. Usually, this includes rice, corn, and oats. However, while raw whole oats themselves do not possess wheat proteins (and thus, gluten), they are bound to acquire gluten through cross-contamination during commercial food processing. In addition to patients with Celiac disease, gluten can pose problems for those with diabetes, Hashimoto’s and other forms of hyperthyroidism, and to those with a general intolerance. Oats are not the only naturally wheat-free food to acquire gluten. Rice, corn, cocoa, and even coffee… read more

Oats: A Buyers’ Guide

Oats: A Buyers' Guide

Eating oats regularly helps to protect against a wide variety of diseases including cancer, cardiovascular disease, and diabetes, as well as aiding weight control. There are a number of different oat products available for those who want to incorporate this nutritious whole grain into their diets. Oat groats: Oat groats are hulled oat kernels that can be used in stuffings or cereals. They have a more rounded shape because they have not been sliced or rolled like most oat products. Steel-cut oats/Scotch oats/Irish oats: These oat groats are sliced but not rolled like quicker-cooking oat products, so they’re thicker and… read more

Best Eat Your Oats

Eat Your Oats

  Oats are among the health-promoting superfoods. Study findings reported by the Whole Grains Council and the George Mateljan Foundation suggest that oats reduce the risk of many different illnesses, as well as helping to maintain a healthy weight. Weight control: A study of 204 overweight adults found that eating whole-grain oat-based cereal twice a day helped subjects to reduce their waistlines. A control group eating the same number of calories did not achieve the same waist-circumference reduction. Other research has found that whole grains create a greater feeling of satiety than white bread (which reduces the likelihood of food… read more

Gluten-Free Baking

muffins

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, spelt, rye, triticale, and barley. Those with celiac disease (which causes a severe autoimmune reaction to gluten) must avoid gluten completely. Some people also avoid gluten due to allergies or sensitivities. Many people believe that avoiding gluten means avoiding all grains, but there are gluten-free whole grains. These include amaranth, buckwheat, millet, quinoa, rice, sorghum, and teff. Flours made from nuts, beans, peas, and arrowroot are also gluten free. Oats are technically gluten free, but they are often contaminated with wheat at some point while growing or during processing. However, there are companies… read more