TAG: Intolerance

Gluten-Free Baking

muffins

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, spelt, rye, triticale, and barley. Those with celiac disease (which causes a severe autoimmune reaction to gluten) must avoid gluten completely. Some people also avoid gluten due to allergies or sensitivities. Many people believe that avoiding gluten means avoiding all grains, but there are gluten-free whole grains. These include amaranth, buckwheat, millet, quinoa, rice, sorghum, and teff. Flours made from nuts, beans, peas, and arrowroot are also gluten free. Oats are technically gluten free, but they are often contaminated with wheat at some point while growing or during processing. However, there are companies… read more

Are We All Intolerant?

Cows milk intolerance

As a child, were you ever forced to remain at the kitchen table, charged with the refusal to finish a glass of milk? Science shows that refusal may have¬†also been an¬†inability. Some of you may be thinking, “Of course some people can’t drink milk, they are called lactose intolerant.” The thing is, we all are. Different people will have varied degrees of intolerance, but no human is meant to ingest cow’s milk. This makes enough sense, no where else in nature does a species consume the other’s milk. As the name suggests, cow’s milk not only comes from cows but… read more