TAG: Gluten

Are Oats Really Gluten-Free?

oats-whole

Often,  those who wish, by preference or necessity, to avoid wheat products seek out alternative grains that are feasible as a replacement. Usually, this includes rice, corn, and oats. However, while raw whole oats themselves do not possess wheat proteins (and thus, gluten), they are bound to acquire gluten through cross-contamination during commercial food processing. In addition to patients with Celiac disease, gluten can pose problems for those with diabetes, Hashimoto’s and other forms of hyperthyroidism, and to those with a general intolerance. Oats are not the only naturally wheat-free food to acquire gluten. Rice, corn, cocoa, and even coffee… read more

Oats: A Buyers’ Guide

Oats: A Buyers' Guide

Eating oats regularly helps to protect against a wide variety of diseases including cancer, cardiovascular disease, and diabetes, as well as aiding weight control. There are a number of different oat products available for those who want to incorporate this nutritious whole grain into their diets. Oat groats: Oat groats are hulled oat kernels that can be used in stuffings or cereals. They have a more rounded shape because they have not been sliced or rolled like most oat products. Steel-cut oats/Scotch oats/Irish oats: These oat groats are sliced but not rolled like quicker-cooking oat products, so they’re thicker and… read more

Spelt Flour

Spelt flour

Spelt is considered to be an ancient grain because it has been cultivated for 7,000 years and modified very little by humans. This means that it is less inbred than standard wheat flour and more nutritious as well. Spelt offers a broader range of nutrients than those found in the more commonly used wheat flour. It is a good source of manganese, fiber, phosphorus, vitamin B3, magnesium, and copper, and provides 30% more protein per serving than standard wheat. Whole grains such as spelt provide a broad array of health benefits, including reducing the risk of heart disease, certain cancers,… read more